Installing the Proprietary AMD Catalyst 14.9 (fglrx) Driver on Fedora 20 (with kernel 3.17!)

Update

See the next post in the series for comments regarding the installation process for the Catalyst 14.12 driver on Fedora 20 with kernel 3.17.  The steps are roughly identical (the only real change being the version designation of the driver from 14.301 to 14.501), so the below process is still complete.

Initial Shout-Outs

Special thanks are deserved by Gil, who pointed this issue out when he encountered it with the 32 bit version of the kernel, and Duane (of local fame), who resolved it through a slightly different method from that which I offer below.  I would also like to acknowledge vukas, who pointed me towards an unofficial AMD Bugzilla listing for this issue.

Thanks to everyone for making this blog into a genuinely collaborative effort to keep the little issues from preventing wider use of the great Fedora operating system!  =)

Problem

So, with kernel 3.17.2-200.fc20.x86_64, attempts to install the latest AMD Catalyst driver (14.9) fail, throwing the following error:

DKMS part of installation failed. Please refer to /usr/share/ati/fglrx-install.log for details

Solution

As with the previous installation guide for the Catalyst 14.4 driver and kernel, we now find ourselves again in need of a patch.  The issue appears to have been diagnosed by Philm of the Manjaro team, who notes that the struct ‘acpi_device_flags’ has no member named ‘no_hotplug’.  This is a problem for the kcl_acpi.c file which attempts to set the no_hotplug member to ‘true’.

If I had noticed that Philm offered a patch in that very post, I wouldn’t have constructed my own, but here’s my patch for the issue:

3.17_kernel.patch

Just download that (and remove the final .doc extension if it bothers you – I just did that to get WordPress to allow me to upload it) and follow the below steps to install the latest AMD Catalyst 14.9 driver on Fedora 20 using the latest kernel (3.17.2-200.fc20.x86_64 at the time of writing):

Prerequisites:

There are two major prerequisites for the AMD Catalyst 14.9 driver on Fedora 20.  The first is to meet the package requirements, and the second is to run a desktop environment other than GNOME (I use KDE).

Package Requirements

As stated by the “installer.html” document provided by the driver, the prerequisites are as follows:

  • GCC version 3.3.3 or higher.
  • Kernel headers or kernel sources matching version of the kernel you’re running.
    Please consult to documentation for your distribution how to get and install this.
  • XFree86 version 4.1.X, 4.2.X, 4.3.X, or XOrg version 6.8.X (Fedora 20 does not use XFree86) or higher.

Heed the warning:

  • If you have multiple version of X Window System installed on your computer the installer will try to detect the default X, and install the driver for the detected version. However, you could experience problems trying to run other versions of X after this. Also, if your X Window System is installed into a nonstandard location, installation of the driver could be either problematic or incomplete.

With a fully up-to-date Fedora 20 installation, perform the following command to acquire the requisite packages:

yum install gcc kernel-headers kernel-devel

GNOME Alternative

Unfortunately, the code included with GNOME 3.10 and beyond to allow for experimental Wayland support conflicts with the proprietary AMD Catalyst driver.  Attempts to boot into GNOME with the driver installed will result in a startup failure.  I hope AMD resolves this matter since Wayland is on its way to becoming mainstream, but in the meanwhile, remove GNOME and install KDE (other desktop environments may work as well – Doctor Hoo reports that XFCE works, for example – but that’s what I’m using and I have verified that it works properly):

sudo yum groupremove “GNOME Desktop”
sudo yum install @kde

You will then need to ensure that your machine boots using the KDE Desktop Manager (KDM).  To do that, see this post and follow the instructions at the beginning.  Once you’ve reached the part which reads “Now, when you reboot, you should see the KDM login manager,”  return to this post and follow the instructions which begin immediately below:

Installation Instructions:

(I will assume that you download the driver and the patch into the Downloads directory in your home directory):

1)  Download the AMD Catalyst 14.9 (fglrx) driver from AMD’s site.

2)  Change your working directory to your ~/Downloads directory and extract the amd-catalyst-14-4-linux-x86-x86-64.zip file (it will extract into a directory named fglrx-14.10.1006 in the current working directory):

cd ~/Downloads
unzip amd-catalyst-14-9-linux-x86-x86-64.zip.

3)  Change your working directory to the fglrx-14.301.1001 directory and extract the driver file:

cd fglrx-14.10.1006/
sh amd-driver-installer-14.301.1001-x86.x86_64.run --extract

Here, you’ll see a message which reads something like:  “Created directory fglrx-install.wIhzk3″ and then “Verifying archive integrity… All good.” followed by a “Uncompressing AMD Catalyst(TM) Proprietary Driver-14.301.1001″ followed by a lot of dots.

4)  Now, you should see a newly created folder called fglrx-install.whateveryourcomputernamedit (mine, for example, was fglrx-install.wIhzk3).  Change your working directory appropriately and apply the patch:

cd fglrx-install.wIhzk3
mv ~/Downloads/3.17_kernel.patch ./          #this is not necessary, but I do it for sanity's sake
patch -p0 < 3.17_kernel.patch

If you are successful, you will see the following output:

patching file common/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/kcl_acpi.c”

5)  Now that you’ve patched the installation package, run the installation:

sudo ./ati-installer.sh 14.301 --install

7)  Choose the “Install Driver 14.301 on X.Org 6.9 or later 64-bit” option from the Setup Wizard, and then simply follow the prompts.

Ensure that you do not select “Generate Distribution Specific Driver Package (Recommended)”.  This will only work if you use one of the officially supported Linux distributions listed on AMD’s site (Fedora is not included).

8)  Reboot your machine and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Information Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to Installing the Proprietary AMD Catalyst 14.9 (fglrx) Driver on Fedora 20 (with kernel 3.17!)

  1. Moinder says:

    Hi!
    When i do the patch, it gives the following error:

    Hunk #1 FAILED at 831.
    1 out of 1 hunk FAILED — saving rejects to file common/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/kcl_acpi.c.rej

    • Hey, thanks for the feedback and sorry for the trouble – I’ve modified the post so that a patch file can be downloaded directly. I believe the act of copying text to and from the blog disrupts formatting necessary for the patch utility to function properly, so let me know if the new file works for you.

      If you can’t get the patch to work (let me know), you can manually correct the line in the file. Just use vim to open up kcl_acpi.c and modify line 834 by appending ” && LINUX_VERSION_CODE < KERNEL_VERSION(3,17,0)" (without the quotes); to it.

  2. Michael says:

    I got all the way up to the point where I needed to execute:

    sudo ati-installer.sh 14.301 –install

    I just get a sudo: ati-installer.sh: command not found

    • Moinder says:

      @Michael
      you can sudo su first then
      try ./ati-installer.sh 14.301 –install

    • Hey man, I think that’s my bad – the syntax of the command should include a ‘./’ before the name of the shell script. It should be: “sudo ./ati-installer.sh 14.301 –install” – I’ve updated the post. Make sure you’re in the right directory, too (the equivalent of the fglrx-install.wIhzk3 directory on your machine). Let me know if you can’t figure it out!

  3. Andreas says:

    Thanks for maintaining these blog posts, they’re very useful!

    I made a different patch that doesn’t remove the logic from the driver to disable hotplugging of the cards.
    You can find it at https://gist.githubusercontent.com/aginor/4f232d4c28aef7685282/raw/c7958e092fa19b4e2603e9bd377aca89569d77fb/fglrx-3.17.patch

  4. Ey guys!

    I just tested both of your patches, and it appears everything ok, but at some point the installation fails and doesn’t install amdccle, neither amdxdg-su, so it’s pretty difficult changing the resolutions without doing shit to the giganormous xorg.conf

    The log seems amazingly clean… look at the pastebin:
    http://pastebin.com/zZ6CcNSa

    Any ideas? I tried with the internal KF5 solution and… crappy solution, didn’t work.
    Thanks for your help!

    • Daniel – You probably already tried this, but just a thought – the installer allows for you to select the AMD Control Panel as part of the installation if you do a Custom Install. By default, it should install the panel, but I guess it isn’t doing that in your case. Have you tried choosing a custom installation and ensuring that you manually select the Catalyst Control Center (I think that’s what they call it in the menu) for installation?

      • Daniel Ripol says:

        Indeed, I already tried it ensuring that I manually select it, but crap, id din’t work…

        Also, there is still something not working, the driver is not added to the dkms neither, and some OpenGL things now didn’t work after kernel-update

        Take a look to the pastebin, i’ve got some sort of log, thanks to “&>error.log”:
        http://pastebin.com/MwKFPPjn

      • Ok, so thus far in my work with this driver and Fedora 20, the DKMS error is indicative of a need for a patch. Can you tell me the following information about your setup?

        1) Operating System
        2) Kernel version
        3) Desktop Environment

      • Daniel Ripol says:

        Of course! I will answer with the output comands to give all the information posible.

        1) Operating System
        Fedora 20 (amd64)
        lsb_release -a:
        LSB Version: :core-4.1-amd64:core-4.1-noarch:cxx-4.1-amd64:cxx-4.1-noarch:desktop-4.1-amd64:desktop-4.1-noarch:languages-4.1-amd64:languages-4.1-noarch:printing-4.1-amd64:printing-4.1-noarch
        Distributor ID: Fedora
        Description: Fedora release 20 (Heisenbug)
        Release: 20
        Codename: Heisenbug

        2) Kernel version
        Like Sam down there, the last one.
        uname -a
        Linux libertyraiser 3.17.3-200.fc20.x86_64 #1 SMP Fri Nov 14 19:45:42 UTC 2014 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

        3) Desktop Environment:
        KF5 (KDE5) which indeed do a segfault due can’t execute opengl/amd-ati thingies.

        LXDE which work, but obviously got a crash in everything opengl/amd-ati related.

        If you need anything more, just tell me.

        Thanks!

  5. craz says:

    How to install 14.9 driver to 64-bit Fedora 20 with linux kernel 3.11?

    • 1) Why are you so behind on your kernel updates!? Update your kernel!
      2) I believe the installer should simply work without modification for kernel 3.11. Do you encounter an error when you attempt to install the driver? If so, what is it?

  6. Huy says:

    Thank you for your tutorial!
    Now I have a trouble with using AMD Catalyst in Administrative. When I open it, I type password, and nothing start. Can you help?
    I’m using Ubuntu 14.04 with kernel 3.17.

    • Huy – Have you been able to locate any log information which might indicate the problem? Try booting your system with a command line interface only and check /var/log/messages, /var/log/Xorg.0.log, and ~/.xsesssion-errors. Let me know if you find anything which seems to explain the problem.

  7. Daniel says:

    your graphics adapter is not supported by this driver…
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Thames [Radeon HD 7550M/7570M/7650M] (rev ff)

    F#CK you AMD! this is garbage will stick to nvidia from now on.

    • Hey, this problem has been observed before. You don’t sound like you’re much interested in a solution, but it seems to me that a simple error in the installer code is causing the installer to detect your on-die Intel GPU and fail before recognizing that your Radeon card exists. I’m sure this is a simple fix in the code if we can pinpoint the proper location – I just haven’t had time to try, yet.

      • ImaginaryUnit says:

        I have the same issue..

        00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
        01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Thames [Radeon HD 7500M/7600M Series] (rev ff)

        Any ideas about where this simple error could be located? 🙂

      • You know, it came to me that we ought to simply prevent the Intel GPU driver from being loaded at boot. That way, your system will only seem to have one GPU, and my guess is that you will be able to then successfully install the fglrx driver. Can you locate your GPU driver in the output of lsmod? If not, you can post its output to pastebin and I’ll be glad to help you find the driver. Once we know its name, we can prevent it from being loaded by creating the file /etc/modprobe.d/fglrx.conf and adding the line: install module_name /bin/false to the file. Once that’s done, a reboot followed by lspci should show that the Intel GPU is no longer detected by the system. Then, you can attempt to install the fglrx driver. My guess is that it will be successful.

      • David says:

        I’m having the same issue with the Fedora Compiz/Mate spin. I read your comment on how to disable Intel’s GPU, but I’m not sure which one’s the Intel GPU driver. I’ve created a paste bin here: http://pastebin.com/shNBdu2v

      • Hey man, I believe it’s the i915 driver. What I should have said in my comment is to execute lspci -k – that’ll show you exactly which kernel module is being used for each PCI device. Find your Intel graphics adapter and just make sure the driver is i915. If so, make the file /etc/modprobe.d/fglrx.conf and add the line “install i915 /bin/false”. Reboot your system, make sure everything comes up as expected, run lspci again to ensure that you no longer see your Intel graphics adapter listed (meaning that the module was successfully prevented from being loaded), and try installing the Catalyst driver. I hope it works! Please let me know if it does – I don’t have a system on which to test this, myself, so I’m very interested in your results.

      • David says:

        Hey bitwiseoperator, I tried blacklisting i915 with your commands, but it didn’t worked. However, I managed to blacklist the i915 driver by adding this line to /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf ->

        blacklist i915

        and then doing “dracut -v -f” to actually make it work. Unfortunately I’m getting a black screen on boot. Do you have any recommendations on how to boot without using the i915 driver?

        I also tried starting with the nomodeset option in grub, with the acpi_backlight=vendor (I’ve been trying a bunch of solutions online), and some others, but I can’t get to the root of the problem. This is driving me crazy, it’s been four full days and nights trying to make it work.

      • Hmm.. it may be that you aren’t operating with any graphics driver at all once you blacklist i915. I thought that would prompt your system to use the radeonsi driver for your AMD card and boot using it as your GPU, but apparently not. Can you use SSH to connect with your system in its graphics-less state and check out lspci -k to see what devices are actually operable and with what kernel modules? If you can get in over SSH, and you can see your AMD card but not your Intel graphics adapter, you might be able to try the Catalyst installation remotely. If it doesn’t work, let me know and we can try to figure out something else. Alternatively, you can just back out of the whole thing by removing the modprobe blacklist of i915. I really wish I had a system on which to test this sort of thing myself, but sadly I do not.

  8. Sam says:

    I’m having difficulty installing Catalyst 14.9 with this patch, using Fedora 20 with kernel 3.17.3. The installation is completed with no errors, but when I reboot the machine I get no video output. Worked fine up to 3.17.2, maybe I made a mistake. Anyone else with similar issues?

    • In my experience, this is usually caused by improperly uninstalling the driver before performing the kernel update. Try using aticonfig –uninstall (use Alt+F2 to get to another terminal if your lack of video output is preventing you from providing commands to the system) to uninstall the driver. Reboot the system and verify that you now have video output again. Then, try reinstalling the driver.

      If that doesn’t work, check the /var/log/Xorg.0.log for evidence of what might be happening.

  9. afl says:

    Worked flawlessly here, thanks!

  10. vukas says:

    AMD has just released new version of AMD Catalyst™ OMEGA Proprietary Linux Graphics Driver http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/AMDCatalystOmegaLINReleaseNotes.aspx

    It is supposed to support kernel up to 3.17, but unfortunately it doesn’t work on my Fedora 20 with kernel 3.17.4 😦

    The patch is still required. This driver is driving me crazy!

  11. mrestom says:

    Thank you so much! This is the only guide that could help me out, you rock!

  12. Dropping Gnome is not something I can do lightly…
    Is there a push to get AMD to support Wayland? A website, a facebook campaign, anything?

    • I hear ya, Denis, but I don’t know of any such organized push. I think AMD is well aware that people would like them to support GNOME, and they’re definitely aware that people actively avoid their products because of poor Linux support, but they do seem to be making big strides towards changing that.

      Hopefully, they’ll be a lot more open-source-oriented with their driver soon (and if you’ve been keeping up with Linux news, you know that’s in the works) and these sorts of issues can be ironed out by the community if not by AMD themselves. In the meanwhile, I feel your pain, for I too love GNOME.

  13. Slava says:

    For Fedora 21 users, I just installed the 14.12 Catalyst Omega drivers on Fedora 21 LXDE spin with 3.17. The instructions and patch here work, nothing else had to be done. Thanks for the post, been a great help 🙂

  14. ma says:

    Thanks, too much troubles but finally working.
    Data: Fedora21 KDE4 spin on Toshiba laptop w/Radeon R5. Kernel 3.17.4

  15. Francesco says:

    That’s great it work like a charm, I won’t change my graphic card.

    Thanks !

  16. Note! To remove the GNOME desktop, you may need to run this command instead:”$ sudo yum sudo yum remove @gnome-desktop

    That worked for me 🙂
    https://ask.fedoraproject.org/en/question/27724/remove-gnome/

  17. Eugene says:

    3.17.7 + omega driver = works!!! Thanx!

  18. Torion says:

    Works great with Catalyst 14.12 on Ubuntu with the mainline kernel.

    Thank you, bitwiseoperator, you’re a live saver. ;o) I was getting mad: kernel 3.15 broke hibernation on my machine and with 3.16, I had nasty kernel panics using Virtualbox.

    Do you know if your patch works with kernel 3.18, too?

    • Hey, great! Glad I could help. I’m not sure if my patch will work for kernel 3.18 since I’m using Fedora 21 and I’m still running 3.17, but I’d wager it either works with 3.18 or is not required (it depends on whether or not 3.18 adds back in the struct member described in past posts).

      As for your VirtualBox issue: even if your kernel panics are no longer a problem, it is my totally unsolicited recommendation that you use KVM over VirtualBox. The latter is the poor man’s virtualization platform, and being a Type 2 hypervisor, it almost never sees any actual use outside of quick and dirty test environments. The former, on the other hand, is supported on every Linux distro you’re likely to encounter and is an impressive, robust, and speedy type 1 hypervisor (you can get about 98% of the speed of an actual physical machine with matching specs out of KVM, whereas VirtualBox is probably somewhere in the 50-70% range).

      • Francesco says:

        I have tried with fedora 21 and kernel 3.18.5 and it taints the kernel with 14.12 version of fglrx. Compiling is fine.

  19. any ideas what to do about this error?
    =====================================================================
    AMD Catalyst(TM) Proprietary Driver Installer/Packager
    =====================================================================

    error: Detected X Server version ‘XServer _64a’ is not supported. Supported versions are X.Org 6.9 or later, up to XServer 1.10 (default:v2:x86_64:lib:XServer _64a:none:3.17.8-300.fc21.x86_64:)
    Installation wwwwill not proceed.

  20. I solved the above problem — I apparently forgot to “sudo”.. blush blush..
    Now the main issue is that “your graphics adaptor is not supported by this driver. Installation will not proceed.” Even though Radeon HD 8730M is selectable from the pull down menu before the driver download 😦

    • You probably have an Intel processor with an on-die GPU. Does the output of lspci confirm that hypothesis? A bunch of people have had trouble installing the Catalyst driver on systems with Intel processors and on-die GPUs – it seems the installer doesn’t recognize the Radeon graphics card in those cases. My initial hypothetical solution to this problem was to prevent the i915 kernel module (Intel’s GPU driver) from loading, but the only user who tried that reported back that this would produce a black screen at boot. I wish I had a system to test on, but I don’t. My bet continues to be that we can prevent the Intel GPU from being recognized by your system and that this will allow the Catalyst driver to install properly.

      Of course, this might not be your issue and you might not have an Intel GPU. Can you let me know whether you do or not?

      • tkalfaoglu says:

        Hi.. The ATI card made me sell that laptop, and I vowed only to buy NVIDIA machines from now on. Yes, it had dual adaptors, one being Intel..
        PS: The NVIDIA machine has been a charm — it worked with bumblebee right away, and it still works months later, and after many “yum update”s..

      • Yeah, there’s little question that nVidia is the superior GPU choice for Linux machines in many cases. I was trying to build an economy class gaming rig primarily out of a need to work deeply with Fedora (my job is primarily in Red Hat Enterprise Linux system engineering and administration) and I became greatly interested in the performance of Radeon APUs. I’ve had gaming systems for the past 17 years, keeping up with the current wave of games and the hardware and software required to play them, and the idea that an on-die GPU can run L4D2 at 30fps on medium settings is pretty remarkable to me. As a result, my Fedora rig cost me a mere $400 and I can still game with my friends when we’re not on our PS4s.

        I used to be a hardcore AMD fan when it came to their processors (my gaming rig for 7 years ran an Athlon XP 64 3800+ – quite a nice lifespan on that system), but Intel has utterly blown them out of the water for maybe a decade now. I respect their risk-taking in designing and selling their APUs and I think that they just might save themselves if they can crank up the power in these things. They’re already amazing, but Carizzo might be even more so. There are rumors that they won’t continue to produce Carizzo APUs for desktops (and that would be a terrible choice, if you ask me, but I don’t have the sales stats, I suppose), so that might push me back over to nVidia eventually, but the same rumors say that an enhanced Kaveri APU will be released instead, and if they get this stuff right, it could be pretty amazing. Throw in the ability to use CrossFire to link the APU and a graphics card and you have a very enticing economic path to a gaming rig (APU now, card later).

        Anyway, just my thoughts on the matter. I ❤ nVidia, but these APUs are beautiful and I hope to see many increasingly powerful and elegant future iterations.

  21. J says:

    cat /usr/share/ati/fglrx-install.log
    Supported adapter detected.
    Check if system has the tools required for installation.
    fglrx installation requires that the system have kernel headers for 3.7 release. /lib/modules/3.17.4-301.fc21.x86_64/build/include/generated/uapi/linux/version.h cannot be found on this system.
    fglrx installation is being forced. Installation will proceed without the required tools on the system.
    Uninstalling any previously installed drivers.
    Unloading radeon module…
    rmmod: ERROR: Module radeon is in use
    Unloading drm module…
    rmmod: ERROR: Module drm is in use by: ttm drm_kms_helper radeon
    [Message] Kernel Module : Trying to install a precompiled kernel module.
    [Message] Kernel Module : Precompiled kernel module version mismatched.
    [Error] Kernel Module : Kernel module build environment not found – please consult readme.

    Fedora 21 w/ ATI/AMD A8 mobile APU and 3.17.8 kernel headers and devel.

  22. Eason Chen says:

    Hello,
    When I entered “patch -p0 < 3.17_kernel.patch", I got "bash: 3.17_kernel.patch: No such file or directory".
    How can I do? Thank you.

    • It looks like bash is telling you that you’re not identifying the 3.17_kernel.patch file properly. I’m guessing that you’re executing that patch command from within a working directory that doesn’t contain the 3.17_kernel.patch file. Find the file, note the appropriate path to the file, and reference it properly (i.e., you may need to do something like patch -p0 < ../actual_location/3.17_kernel.patch).

  23. Francesco says:

    Update with the patch at this link I’ve successfully compiled omega 14.12 fedora 20/21 with kernel 3.18.5 !
    🙂
    http://henryhermawan.blogspot.it/2014/12/amd-catalyst-omega-145011003-1412-for.html

  24. Danny says:

    I’m successfully running driver version 14.12 on Fedora 21 with 3.18.9. I would like to run older catalyst version 14.9 (14.201.1009) on Fedora 21 with 3.18.9, is there something I need to do to change the patch to get it to work correctly? Please help.

    • Perhaps you could help me to help you by telling me if you tried the process described in this article and, if so, where you ran into trouble?

      • Danny says:

        I guess what I’m getting at is I didn’t try the process under the latest sable kernel release (3.18.9-200) I did not think the patch would apply because of the kernel version mismatch.

  25. titorizky23 says:

    bitwiseoperator i can’t login after installing this driver… it screen start with running service but after 3 blinks (white) it freeze only power button can do shutdown…..maybe my mistake is not config fglrx n now i can do anything…. My laptops is using AMD A8 Graphic dual Radeon HD8750M running on fedora 20 and kernel 3.18… Please Help me 😥

    • So, is your latest comment intended to inform me that you’ve sold the laptop you’re talking about here? I think we may be able to figure out the issue if you haven’t sold it yet.

  26. Danny says:

    bluehatrecord has been the best resource for this topic and I did try the process described in this article and have been successful under Fedora 20 with 3.17 kernel before there was a 3.18.9-200 update. I am running Fedora 21 on 3.17 kernel and unable to keep the kernel-headers from updating when I install gcc. I am excluding kernel* in yum.conf but by doing that it prevents the download of the current kernel headers. What am I doing wrong to keep kernel version 3.17 like you are running currently. Thank you.

  27. Danny says:

    OK, I figured out how to install kernel-headers and kernel-devel for 3.17.4-301. appending exclude=kernel* in yum.conf prevented yum from showing packages available for the current kernel version. I was thinking it would exclude kernel from updates only. I should be successful in installing fglrx 14.9 now.

  28. Danny says:

    I was still unsuccessful with Fedora 21 on 3.17.4-301, kernel version too high? I ended up with a black screen post boot and unable to get into recovery.

    • Well, I have been running the latest Fedora kernel (3.18.9-200) and the process I have described works for me. Unfortunately, I have now updated to kernel 3.19.1-201 and the Catalyst driver now refuses to install. I’m troubleshooting that now.

      If you successfully perform a clean uninstall (using the command “aticonfig –uninstall”), reboot your machine, gather all available updates (except the kernel, I guess?), and follow the installation procedure I have detailed, do you receive any errors during the process?

  29. Happy says:

    I got the following error message while trying to apply the patch:
    “bash: 3.17_kernel.patch: No such file or directory” Any help, please?

    • All that’s telling you is that you are referencing the 3.17_kernel.patch file incorrectly. If you typed patch -p0 < ./3.17_kernel.patch and the 3.17_kernel.patch file is really in the parent directory (../3.17_kernel.patch, for example), that would be your problem. You just need to correctly refer to the file’s actual location.

Leave a Reply

