FedUp: Upgrading to Fedora 21 with the KDE Spin

Just a public service announcement:

The recommended method given by Matthew Miller of Fedora Magazine for someone who is running KDE on Fedora 20 to use FedUp is with the –product=nonproduct option and argument. So your fedup command would look something like:

fedup --network 21 --product=nonproduct

Someone who totally isn’t me rather hastily updated his Fedora 20 system with a self-installed KDE group to the workstation product, and now I get the following issue when I try to install, say, the KDE Plasma Workspaces group (since the group is not technically installed on my system and I’d like it to be):

sudo yum groupinstall "KDE Plasma Workspaces"
 ...
 ---> Package gnome-python2.x86_64 0:2.28.1-15.fc21 will be installed
 --> Processing Conflict: fedora-release-workstation-21-2.noarch conflicts fedora-release-nonproduct
 --> Processing Conflict: fedora-release-nonproduct-21-2.noarch conflicts fedora-release-workstation
 ...
 Error: fedora-release-nonproduct conflicts with fedora-release-workstation-21-2.noarch
 Error: fedora-release-workstation conflicts with fedora-release-nonproduct-21-2.noarch

This seems to have been noticed in bugzilla report 1167719.  The fedora-release-nonproduct and fedora-release-workstation packages conflict with one another, but are listed as dependencies for the packages from the KDE Plasma Workspaces group which I would like to install.

Obviously, one would like to replace the workstation package with the nonproduct package in this situation. Indeed, the removal of the workstation package is recommended by a user named ryptyde in the Fedora Forums.  My concern is that I do not thoroughly understand the purpose and contents of the fedora-release-* packages and I’m unsure what might be left without repository support if I were to simply remove the workstation package, or what sort of conflicts might occur if I attempted to replace the workstation package with the nonproduct package.

I hate to post a work in progress, but I primarily wanted to let people know to avoid the workstation product if using KDE and wanting to maintain a high degree of sanity. The fedup process succeeded, but I am now facing these package management issues.

This entry was posted in Information Technology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FedUp: Upgrading to Fedora 21 with the KDE Spin

  1. JJ says:

    Thank you for your notes. They have allowed me to update without issues (for many kernel versions now). One note, and maybe I just have not found the right option, but when I upgrade, there doesnt seem to be a way to uninstall the old driver first. I always end up force installing the driver over the old one. Did I miss something?

Leave a Reply

