Installing the Proprietary AMD Catalyst 14.12 (fglrx) Driver on Fedora 20 (with kernel 3.17!)

Update:  See the next post in the series for instructions regarding the installation of the AMD Catalyst driver on Fedora 21.

This is an easy and quick post, since the new driver from AMD installs in the same way as the previous driver.  It requires the same prerequisites and the same patch, so feel free to follow the previous instructions – just ignore the old driver specification of 14.301 and use 14.501).

I’m working (obviously, if you’ve read my other posts) on fixing up my Fedora 21 product situation which resulted from a careless fedup operation.  Once that’s done, I’ll post the steps for installing the driver on Fedora 21.  The immediate good news is that the majority of the steps are the same, you just have to deal with the KDE and GNOME groups differently.  If you can work that out on your own, just perform the same steps as the previous instructions and you’ll be good to go.

This entry was posted in Information Technology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Installing the Proprietary AMD Catalyst 14.12 (fglrx) Driver on Fedora 20 (with kernel 3.17!)

  1. danielripoll140 says:

    Hi again!

    As always i’ve got the weird problems…

    Just reinstalled fedora from Zero, using the new Fedora21-lxde and installed catalyst with the patch

    Evrything In the installer was OK, but no I’ve got ‘No signal’ from the two screens

    Any ideas?

    • Hmmm… are you able to use Ctrl+Alt+F2 to reach another virtual terminal? If so, you can check the X.org log (/var/log/Xorg.0.log) and see if we can figure out what’s going on.

      • Nope, wasn’t able. But to improve the weirdness moment, just unplugged one of the conectors (to try something) and it apperas to be OK, with the big screen or the smaller one, doesn’t matter. When I try to put the two screens… All goes instant-black.

        http://codepad.org/7dCf47LG

        Looking at the log is like it goes to a non-end buucle searching something…

  2. Spel says:

    Since I’ve only just installed Fedora 21, would it be a better option to simply reinstall as the kde spin instead of trying to swap out Gnome for KDE? I remember trying that bricked my last install.

  3. Spel says:

    Nevermind – the new workstation image doesn’t allow for installing KDE as default. Another question – if it’s wayland support in GNOME that breaks the AMD driver, wouldn’t KDE plasma 5 break it too?

    • Well, it doesn’t seem to. Something peculiar about the GNOME implementation, perhaps? I’m running KDE now and it works as expected with the Catalyst driver. If I were you, I would take the opportunity to reinstall Fedora 21 using the KDE Spin (which is the nonproduct version of Fedora 21 with KDE packages preinstalled).

  4. Roberto Villegas says:

    I Just can say thank You. Thank You very much for share and to be so explicit, it was very easy to find the solution around your posts.

    I have a HP Pavilion g4 Notebook, the problem was the machine don’t sleep or hibernate, some times I can’t reboot and I should shutdown.

    The VGA compatible controller, is an: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Trinity [Radeon HD 7520G]. Now I know I have to install KDE, Fedora 20, Kernel 3.17.6-200.fc20.x86_64 and amd-catalyst-omega-14.12-linux-run-installers.zip, and now sleep, hibernate, reboot without any problem.

    Thanks again.

  5. TallTanBarbie says:

    Hello…I can’t get the patched driver to work with a V3900 on Fedora 20. I do 3D scientific visualisation work and I have a W8000 for quad buffered stereo 3D in OpenGL and two additional V3900 cards that I’m using for secondary display output. I’m running Fedora KDE (3.17.7) on a custom built workstation with an ASUS P9X79-WS E motherboard. I can get the driver patch to work on the AMD workstation GPU drivers OK, but I can’t get the driver to work with the V3900 after it installs. It hangs before going into X. It will work with the W8000 with no problems (so far). If I install both GPUs only the GPU in the first slot is recognised at boot and any additional GPUs are ignored. I want to use the V3900 on the first slot for simple VGA output when the computer starts and this isn’t working with the patched driver. Do you have any idea what the problem might be?

    Xorg Log after AMD V3900 Fail On Fedora 20 (3.17.7), patched AMD Catalyst Pro 14.301.1010 driver
    http://codepad.org/X479nMam

  6. TallTanBarbie says:

    Update: I swapped the GPUs around and got the driver to work but now there is a new problem: Xinerama. Fedora 20 freezes during startup after Xinerama is enabled. Fortunately, I could get into an alternate terminal via ctrl-alt-f2, delete the driver, reboot, and re-install. Have you been able to get Xinerama to work? If so, please let me know. As for the other problem I don’t what else I can do except get another (more up-to-date) GPU and set it up on the first slot to get more outputs I can use. I’ve also noticed that AMD has the GPU display inputs numbered from right to left, top to bottom order (if the motherboard is situated vertically with the top facing right and the slots are going down) and only the first two display inputs are active when the computer boots up.

  7. I was able to get everything working, apply the patch and start up the Catalyst Control Center and everything was very easy. But only once I blew away the OS and did a clean install of Fedora 21 with KDE spin:
    https://spins.fedoraproject.org/en/kde/

    I had no luck removing GNOME through a simple “yum” command. Not even after dropping into runlevel 3 and doing it from a pure-text TTY interface. The system would just bork every time. The above link, plus the previous instructions in the prior blogpost in this series, made it very simple.

    • Thanks for the info, Denis. Could you explain “bork” a little more? I have a feeling you may have needed to specify the KDM as your Desktop Manager rather than the GDM if you were not receiving a login screen after the GNOME removal.

  8. derek says:

    i have tryed to install a omega drivers, my video adapter is Radeon HD 5800 Series, but when start gdm the logins screen not rod, i look the terminal with a white square, my desktop is mate, is compatible with this drivers?

    • Derek – I’m not sure how compatible MATE will be with the Catalyst driver since it’s based on GNOME. Though it’s based on GNOME 2, I’m not sure if it pulls in any features from the most recent GNOME releases which might include code which is incompatible with the Catalyst driver. You might try changing from using the GDM to a different Desktop Manager.

      • derek says:

        thanks, i was with fedora 20 I did not have the problem of white squares , but since I updated to Fedora 21 trying to install omega drivers

  9. Fox says:

    Hey there,
    I found a workaround in the fedoraforums that allows you to install the catalyst driver with gnome. You need to rebuild the gnome shell, and some other packages (clutter, cogl, and gnome software like chesse, gnome-boxes etc) without the wayland support. Here is the link to the thread: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=295881 , its a bit long and I think the workaround is on site 3 or 4 but I am not sure.
    Besides that I couldn’t test the workaround on my pc because I am running Fedora 21 and the gnome shell wont rebuild, looks like things changed a bit in Gnome 3.14

    • Thanks for the information, Fox. I am aware of this process, but the problem is that it must be redone every time there’s an update to any of the packages you rebuild. Without a really bitchin’ script (and even with one), it seems too burdensome to maintain to me. I do love GNOME, but not that much. =)

  10. drzoidberg says:

    Hi !
    did someone succeed to install the amd radeon driver on a fedora 21 WITH gnome ?
    or is it still impossible ?
    thx.

    • Dr. Zoidberg!

      As Fox points out, there is a procedure available for rebuilding certain GNOME packages without Wayland support to allow for GNOME to operate with the Catalyst driver. The problem, as I stated in response to his comment, is that this process must be followed each time any of those GNOME packages are updated, and that’s very burdensome, so I don’t recommend it.

  11. drzoidberg says:

    thx for your answer. and for the gnome article. i succeed to compil and install the driver, but i get an “atiddxprobe failed” error on my /var/log/Xorg.log with a black screen when i reboot after. do you know any workaround about that ?

    • Fox says:

      As I said in my post I also cant get It working in Fedora 21. I got the problem that the gnome-shell wont compile.

      bitwiseoperator , yeah I now its quite troublesome. As far as I have seen gnome shell is the only package that gets updated often but its still a mess.

      I dont now If you have seen it alreday, but today got a new method released for installing the driver in f21 with gnome.
      http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=MTg3Nzg
      Looks a bit better than rebuilding gnome packages.

  12. TallT says:

    Hello…In case inquring minds want to know Fedora 21 isn’t working with ATI 3D workstation GPUs yet. The initial install went fine but after the first update & reboot the display locked up with the right half of the screen on the left and the left half of the screen on the right. This is with the built-in Fedora 21 driver — I wasn’t even able to get to installing the ATI driver so I re-installed Fedora 20.

Leave a Reply

