Installing the Proprietary AMD Crimson driver on Fedora 23 with Linux Kernel 4.2.6

Most-Important Update:  See the latest post in the series for instructions on installing the Crimson driver in Fedora 23 with kernel version 4.2.8!

Finally, after the prolonged mess that was Catalyst support for Linux kernel 4.2, it looks like we have new driver software to work with.  I’ll be working on getting the Crimson driver installed and running on my Fedora 23 workstation tonight.  Hopefully, I’ll report back a quick and easy installation process!

Update:  Aaaand, my trusty APU is not supported with the new Crimson driver.  My installation attempt fails in the GUI after I select the generic Linux on x86_64 package generation option.

It’s not made clear in any way by AMD, but it appears according to their Crimson Beta release notes, that the HD 8000D series is not supported on Linux with the new Crimson driver:

AMD APU series codenamed “Kaveri”, “Godavari” and “Carrizo” are only supported by AMD Radeon Software Crimson Edition Beta  on Windows® 7 (32 & 64-bit), Windows® 8.1 (64-bit) and Windows® 10 (64-bit).

Nice.  My APU is so unsupported, it doesn’t even get a mention by name (Richland) at all, despite being an 8670D.

So it looks like I’ll have to get the last Catalyst driver working or have no further driver support for my cool little APU rig which I loved nearly unconditionally.  sniff.

Being that it appears to be a GCC compiler issue, I may try to install GCC 4.9 onto my system alongside the built-in GCC 5 compiler, but that is complicated in Fedora 23 given the extent to which the GCC 5 compiler is integrated with the operating system (e.g. there is no rpm package for GCC 4.9 offered in the standard Fedora 23 repositories), and there are no clear instructions that I have yet discovered.  My poor little APU-based system may be reaching the end of its usefulness to me.

Sorry everybody, but this might be the end of the road for my AMD Catalyst / Crimson installation instructions for Fedora.

 

This entry was posted in Information Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Installing the Proprietary AMD Crimson driver on Fedora 23 with Linux Kernel 4.2.6

  1. Ole H says:

    I stumbled upon this page – Haven’t tried it yet. Could it be of any help?
    http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/slackware-14/compiling-amd-crimson-edition-4175559772/

  2. Azi Raphale says:

    Same error om my laptop:
    00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Wrestler [Radeon HD 7340]
    The “supported Products” tab on the new driver looks no different from the Catalyst 15.9 (which worked fine for me until F23), so this GPU should be supported…
    Could it be a bug in the detection logic rather than actual incompatibility?

  3. tamarintech says:

    I have a supported card, but immediately crash with errors around Xorg OsColorLookup. Seems like Xorg 1.18 in Fedora 23 is too new…. :\

    • Yeah…that doesn’t surprise me. You might try downgrading your Xorg server if you’re interested in troubleshooting further. I did that a while back with Fedora 22 and a particular version of the Catalyst driver, and it was a fine workaround.

  4. R4v3nPr0 says:

    Hello everyone, if you have a video card, which, the Catalyst 15.9 driver does give support, but Crimson not supports it, then I have them the good news that yes you can install Crimson for your video card.

    I will post a guide on how to do on this page: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/catalyst-test/

  5. My video card is unsupported too with latest drivers. So, I installed xubuntu 14.04 LTS and then I performed fgrlx-driver installation.

  6. Phil says:

    Why use the beta crimson driver when there are fully released stable drivers available http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/linux. For my r9 290x the driver installs fine, but afaict X isn’t falling back to running as root under F23. Apart from that it was nice for the driver to install out of the box :). A pleasant change. Modification to SELINUX did nothing…

    • Yeah, I wasn’t suggesting that we use the beta driver, just pointing to its release notes since they were more detailed and (potentially) explanatory than the documentation I could find of the actual release given my situation.

  7. R4v3nPr0 says:

    @bitwiseoperator

    Hi, if your video card is supported by Catalyst, hence, your video card is supported by Crimson. The only thing you have to do is extract the .run file and inside all extracted files, there one that are named detect_gpu.sh, open that file and modify the last line from exit $status to exit 0, with this you force Crimson to install even when it says your video card is unsupported.

    Note that after installation you can’t use aticonfig because it says that your video card is unsupported, so you need to use your xorg.conf generated by aticonfig from Catalyst 15.9.

    • Nice idea there, but my days of troubleshooting AMD’s driver seem to be over for now; I gave my computer in which the Richland APU was installed to a family member in need of a working machine. I am now going to be using an NVidia GTX 960 on another machine for my gaming needs. I’ll be glad to keep a discussion post alive for people searching for the information, but I won’t have a machine on which to test out solutions any longer.

      • iUser says:

        Aww 😦 That’s too bad, you were our big and bright lighthouse in the land of dark. The one question I’m asking myself for all this long time is why nVidia can keep up with the support while AMD can’t. I like Radeon cards very much, they work very good on “THAT” OS and on Linux with your help, but AMD is somehow making it less happy.
        Thank you very much for all your work done, maybe someday you will have the patience to try again 😉
        However! I have two more things, one quasi-bad one super-funny, here we go:
        The bad thing:
        http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1147806
        The rumors (or not rumors?) goes that Crimson may lock the Fan on 20% speed which may cause GPU to turn into frying pan and die.
        The funny thing:
        If envy in latin is invidia…and opposite of envy is kindness…does that mean that opposite to invidia is AMD? :3

      • Aw, thanks man. If I find an AMD card, I may resume. I’m going to be running my cards using PCI Passthrough to virtual machines, so if I run across an AMD card, I’ll make a VM I can use for the installations.

        The news about the Crimson drivers is worrying.. The nVidia bit is possible. =)

    • Jay V says:

      Thanks that fix worked for me perfectly on the 4.2.6 kernel on fc22. I assume fc23 will work as well.

      I was able to extract and build it as in previous guides, but better without any patches.

      I have a Trinity APU which is not supported but did worked fine. The ati installer seems to based off the same codebase.

      The only other thing I had to change was /etc/X11/xorg.conf from the driver vesa to fglrx.

  8. Jay V says:

    I was successful with 15.30 on FC23 with an unsupported card. This is how I did it. I did this a dnf system-upgrade, but I’m sure a fresh install will work.

    To make it work you will to downgrade Xorg. You will need to download the 15.30 driver and 15.9 driver. I did it with the following steps, YMMV.

    At first didnt get anything to display after upgrade, so in grub at the boot prompt I appended “single” to I can boot into single user mode without X.
    Also running “init 3” will bring you to multi-user without X

    1. Xorg version is 1.18 and only works on 1.17 as described in the Driver Release Notes. I used the similar approach as described in the link except I did it with XOrg from FC22
    https://bluehatrecord.wordpress.com/2015/06/05/installing-the-proprietary-amd-catalyst-15-5-fglrx-15-101-driver-on-fedora-22-with-linux-kernel-4-04/

    To do this, add these 2 files to /etc/yum.repos.d
    % cat fedora22.repo
    [fedora22]
    name=Fedora 22 – x86_64
    failovermethod=priority
    metalink=https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=fedora-22&arch=x86_64
    enabled=1
    gpgcheck=1
    gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora-22-x86_64
    skip_if_unavailable=False

    % cat fedora22-updates.repo
    [updates22]
    name=Fedora 22 – x86_64 – Updates
    failovermethod=priority
    #baseurl=http://download.fedoraproject.org/pub/fedora/linux/updates/22/x86_64/
    metalink=https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=updates-released-f22&arch=x86_64
    enabled=1
    gpgcheck=1
    gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora-22-x86_64
    skip_if_unavailable=False

    – import keys if needed
    – Downgrade your Xorg using command:
    % dnf –allowerasing downgrade xorg-x11-server-common xorg-x11-server-Xorg

    2. Extract Both the 15.30 driver and 15.9 driver.
    The command will be:
    ./AMD-Catalyst-15.9-Linux-installer-15.201.1151-x86.x86_64.run –extract
    and
    ./amd-driver-installer-15.30.1025-x86.x86_64.run –extract
    Remember which directory is for the 15.9 driver and the 15.30

    2. In order to make your card supported– You will need to copy the “control” file from the 15.9 driver and to 15.30. The 15.9 supports the cards, so you just need to replace this file. Simply do a command such as
    % cp fglrx-install.ZtkIme/common/etc/ati/control fglrx-install.OC68VA/common/etc/ati
    (replace with your correct fglrx-install.?????? correctly)

    3. Install the 15.30 with:
    $ cd fglrx-install.OC68VA
    ./ati-installer.sh 15.30 –install
    (I didn’t get any errors, so I was stoked)

    4. reboot and run
    Regenerate your xorg.conf file (if needed) using:
    % aticonfig –initial
    The ‘aticonfig’ command uses the “control” file also which should have already been copied in the install to /etc/ati. If not just copy it from the 15.9 extracted driver

    reboot and Hopefully you will have a beautiful desktop running.

    Gnome and Cinnammon didn’t run for me, so I changed to KDE Plasma. I am also running Lightdm as my Display Manager. He has described how to install Lightdm in a previous post.
    I have this only running this for a couple of hours… Hopefully you will be as successful

    • Rik says:

      same here, downgraded to xorg 1.17, tried with Cinnamon, didn’t work
      changed to KDE Plasma, all good
      very good performance with various apps/games

      • Tim says:

        hi Rik,

        I had tried installing KDE Plasma, but I dont reach Lightdm, so I cant switch to it.
        Why even lightdm wont start?

  9. From what I’ve found, all you need to do to install the latest stable Crimson driver of F23 is to downgrade xorg-x11-server-Xorg and xorg-x11-server-common to the F22 version using:
    dnf –allowerasing –releasever=22 downgrade xorg-x11-server-Xorg xorg-x11-server-common
    and adding:
    exclude=xorg-x11-server-Xorg xorg-x11-server-common
    to the bottom of the first paragraph in:
    /etc/yum.repos.d/fedora.repo
    /etc/yum.repos.d/fedora-updates.repo
    /etc/yum.repos.d/fedora-updates-testing.repos
    reboot and download the driver from:
    http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop?os=Linux+x86
    or
    http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop?os=Linux+x86_64
    unzip the folder and run the amd-whatever.run and install normally (not creating packages) then run:
    sudo aticonfig –initial
    reboot again and it should be installed! (It worked for me anyway)

    • Tim says:

      Downgrading xorg dont work for me. 😦
      I’m on Korora 23 (which based on Fedora 23) with cinnamon desktop and Kernel 4.2.6 .
      After downgrading xorg to 1.17 and installing the newest amd crimson driver, Linux only start with blackscreen and wont reach the login screen. If I change to the console window and try to start X-server manualy it gives me the typical Error “no screen found”.

      My System use an intel/amd hybrit graphics card (intelhd4400) and amd (r7 m260) …which also not work with the amdgpu in kernel 4.2 -hope this would come. with the new 4.3 .
      Is the hybrid graphic the problem or korora/cinnamon?
      The crimson driver 15.30.1025-x86.x86_64 was compiled without any error.

      Can somebody help?

      • Rik says:

        Hey Tim.
        I had your same issue, random black screen before the login screen or just right after inserting my user credentials, while loading Cinnamon.
        I believe the issue is not the hybrid graphics but just Cinnamon not properly supported by the Crimson drivers.
        I have an amd gpu r7 250x, I switched to KDE Plasma and it works like a charm.
        Give it a try!

    • LyPo says:

      I’ve followed Stenstorpstorp’s instructions and the install went smoothly, I’m back in X now, obviously, typing this in.

      Vanilla Fedora23 (Actually an upgrade from 21 which was a fedup from 20 IIRC) with a Radeon HD 7770. There’s no integrated graphics on this old Gigabyte mobo, so no problems there. WebGL works well, though I can’t say I’ve noticed a speedup.

      Better FPS is not the reason I switched as I don’t really game that much, but I did have problems with muliple programs which rely on OpenGL showing blank screens with the open-source driver. I just tried one of them and it works just fine now.

      Not ecstatic about pinning Xorg to an old version, nor about possible issues as new kernels trickle into fedora… but first 5 minutes have been OK.

      • LyPo says:

        Update: I’ve uninstalled the crimson driver today. It worked ok for most things (WebGL, OpenCL) but html5 video in firefox (youtube) became very sluggish and that was too big an annoyance. I searched for some about:config tweaks but nothing worked so I uninstalled the driver and upgraded xorg back to 1.18, and youtube is acceptable again.

        My hardware is a few years old, a cape verde (7xxx? can’t remember).

      • LyPo says:

        btw, I had some trouble with gl libraries and symlinks and what not (perhaps after upgrading some packages). The crimson driver installs a couple of scripts which are useful to deal with this:

        /usr/lib64/fglrx/switchlibglx amd
        /usr/lib64/fglrx/switchlibGL amd

    • PowerWagon says:

      This works perfectly if done exactly as stated. (e.g. Follow steps carefully.) I tested Steam and Play on Linux games. Might be good to note that if you get balled up, you can boot into console mode by pressing “e” at the grub kernel listing then add a “3” at the end of the line that begins with “linux16”. To uninstall use the script “/usr/share/ati/amd-uninstall.sh”. In my little adventure, I swapped lxdm for gdm, LXDE for Gnome, and my initramfs got messed up (kernel panic) which I fixed by regenerating with “dracut -f –kver 4.2.8-300.fc23.x86_64” HTH

    • Linards says:

      @bitewiseoperator, could you please extract and format these steps and create new post, please? 🙂

  10. Gil says:

    As I heard, AMD is opening his sources and helping to the free radeon driver. So I think it is better to wait a while and see what comes out ..

    • Bill says:

      We’ve been waiting years for decent Linux support. Don’t hold your breath! That said the new generation of chips on the horizon are very exciting. Lets hope they land with good Linux support!

  11. Bennett Talpers says:

    I was unable to upgrade following the reboot, however I have the kernel version 4.2.3 with Fedora 23. Do I need to update my kernel?

    …………………..
    Failed to parse arguments: Option “–disable-factory” is no longer supported in this version of gnome-terminal.
    =====================================================================
    AMD Proprietary Driver Installer/Packager
    =====================================================================

    error: Detected X Server version ‘XServer _64a’ is not supported. Supported versions are X.Org 6.9 or later, up to XServer 1.10 (default:v2:x86_64:lib:XServer _64a:none:4.3.5-300.fc23.x86_64:)
    Installation will not proceed.

Leave a Reply

